Jude goes international (squee!)

Being the vain person I am, I somtimes google the documentary to see if it’s still fresh in people’s minds. Nothing wrong with this, after all it’s not like I have a PR agent or anything, I like to see the feedback from the audience and engage with them.

So trawling through the search results last week, I saw that it would be airing in Australia today (in fact, it just finished airing on ABC1 there and will be available on iview shortly). After the initial excitement of appearing on Australian TV (and thus becoming one step closer to my goal of being the first black person on Neighbours), I was immensely proud that the documentary had been picked up by BBC Worldwide for international airing.

Reading some of the live-tweets as the documentary aired in Oz-land, the thing that touched me the most was not just the reaction of the viewers, but the fact that they were aware of the fact that the Congo just isn’t reported on enough, and were genuinely pleased that the documentary had been shown.

Even as I write this hastily planned blog, I have tears in my eyes because I know that the world over, people are crying and are angry and care, and that’s all I can ask for.

When I think that it’s almost a year now since I flew out there not knowing what to expect, I’m proud of how far I’ve come since I was that slightly naive 23 year old who went out to Congo a girl anxious to see her parents again and came back awakened with a purpose.

I’ve had so many people email me or tweet me to say that my documentary touched them or enocuraged them to take action and get involved and it’s exactly for that reason that I know the tears and sleepless nights were all worth it because I’m doing what all those amazing incredible people wanted me to do: I’m sharing their stories and letting the world know that they are suffering and in return, they know that they’re not alone and that someone cares.

So if you stumbled across my rather badly maintained blog after the Four Corners documentary. Thank you for watching, and please tell everyone you know to watch and to take action. It will mean everything to all those incredible women whose faces you were introduced to tonight.

xoxo

Jude

9 Comments

Filed under random

9 responses to “Jude goes international (squee!)

  1. Frank Spelmans

    jude

    I saw your program of eastern congo and i saw little chloe. my tears rolled over my cheek and my heart broke into pieces. I realised that i had to do something. I want to help little chloe and give her her life back. Please jude contact me on my e-mail spelmansf@hotmail.com. I have msn messenger and facebook, my name on facebook is spelmans Frank. Please contact me so we can talk about this situation. Please let me know something.

    Greetz Frank

  2. Frank Spelmans

    Jude

    Jude, i want to help little chloe. I want to give her her life back and maybe she can come to Europe for immigration she and her mother. We will see. Jude, please contact me my e-mail is spelmansf@hotmail.com. Please jude contact me. what is your e-mail?

  3. Hi Judith would like to inquire if you would consider an interview on my radio show to both speak of the atrocities that the women of the DRCongo face daily, and how in your opinion these remarkable women somehow keep their human spirit when in many cases a person would give up and admit defeat. To the brave women building cities of Joy and other women assisting rape victims reconcile with their families and husbands. I think this issue needs to remain on the forefront of the news and media, the tragedies created from the corrupt governments to the money hungry corporations manipulating Congolese for their natural resources , to military built by men whose objective is destroying the human essence with rape, murder and violence towards women and children.

    Please consider it I just watched your absolutely moving documentary here in Toronto, Canada and could not help but feel thankful my wife and children have a blanket of safety that these people in the Congo certainly deserve we all do.

    Jason Pepper
    PAIR A NORMAL GUYS INC

    P.S. I realize my topics are of the paranormal usually however this issue is one of human evolution as well as devolution and the human spirit of both despair and of hope.

    I have spoken with some of the top experts in many paranormal and current event fields. To name a few such notable guests of mine were Stanton Friedman, Nick Pope, Nick Redfern, Dr David Jacobs , Lloyd Pye, Dr Lynne Kitei, Dr David Jacobs, Micheal Horn, Dr Bruce Goldberg, Dustin Pari, Patti Star, Steven LaChance , Bishop James Long , Barrie John, John Hutchison, and many more you may hear my past shows on my itune page which I ll provide.

    http://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/id297198705

  4. Mark Brown

    Dear Judith,
    I have just come back from Corfu on Holiday. Whilst there I watched a BBC programe on your visit to to Congo. To put it simply I was stunned!! Your visit to Africa and your determination to bring it to the world’s attention really moved me. I am a teacher and a head of year at the Frankfurt International school. I would like to ask you if you would be willing to be the graduation speaker for an incredible group of students on June 5th 2011? The students who are graduating take part in a range of projects including an orphanage in Poland and three different schools in the Kalahari in South Africa. We would of course cover your expenses etc. If you think you can make it, please contact me at the following address: mark_brown@fis.edu

  5. Kirra

    Judith
    I have never blogged before but have been googling you after watching FOUR CORNERS last night, and after joining a facebook group called ‘Stop the Rape of Women & Children’.
    Thank you for sharing your amazing story which, as you said, aired in Australia last night. I have been having a bit of a conversation about the documentary, and the DRC in general, on facebook today, trying to find a way to do what you say, and take action.
    I have the will, but only vague ideas of donating to large organisations like Global Witness, etc. I know you have been on a journey (yes, a journey *wink*) with this notion of being effective and, accordingly, I am asking you, with your experience, to please recommend anything we can do to take action. We can most definitely spread the word, but do you have any other ideas for direct action, taken from afar? I would love to make a positive difference to the women and children of Panzi, and beyond.
    Thank you, and best of luck with it all.
    Respect.

  6. Kirra

    Judith
    I have never blogged before but have been googling you after joining a facebook group called ‘Stop the Rape of Women & Children’. Thank you for sharing your amazing story which, as you said, aired in Australia last night. I have been having a bit of a conversation about the documentary, and the DRC in general, on facebook today, trying to find a way to do what you say, and take action.
    I have the will, but only vague ideas of donating to large organisations like Global Witness, etc. I know you have been on a journey (yes, a journey *wink*) with this notion of being effective and, accordingly, I am asking you, with your experience, to please recommend anything we can do to take action. We can most definitely spread the word, but do you have any other ideas for direct action, taken from afar? I would love to make a positive difference to the women and children of Panzi, and beyond.
    Thank you, and best of luck with it all.
    Respect.

  7. Vanessa

    Dear Jude,

    I watched the documentary last night on Australian TV and couldn’t help but be moved in many different ways. Angry, saddened, shocked, sickened, feeling of guilt, as well as admiration for what these women have experienced and the way they have dealt with what life has thrown at them. I’ve lived in Africa over the years ( 2 years in Ethiopia and 3 years in Botswana) and now that I am back in my comfortable life your doco forced me to finally get my act together and channel some of the money I “throw” away each week on take away coffee or toys for the kids. Can you tell me if it is possible to support the charity work in the congo directly. In particualr the hospital where women can go for surgery after brutally being raped. Any information you could send would be fantastic.

  8. Gaye Nial

    Dear Jude,
    What can I do to help Christine with the work she is doing? Is it still going okay?
    Yours, Gaye.

    • The work is going ok and City of Joy’s opening has had to be postponed whilst V-Day founder Eve Ensler recuperates following an illness. From the information I have been given, it is still due to be opened early 2011.

      To donate please visit V-Day City of Joy. You can also find your nearest V-Day office or event to get more directly involved.

      Jude

Leave a Reply

